Emails That Aren’t So Bad….Is This Really True??

Emails That Aren’t So Bad….Is This Really True?? Yes it is true. Emails can indeed be a good thing, especially for consumers. We all get the spam emails and the junk mail from people we have no idea who they are. Especially people in the photography business. Different artists and photographers are always trying to sell us new equipment and gear from random websites we have never heard of before.

Even though I am big into photography I also love cable television which makes Time Warner, now Spectrum (but Tim Warner for the sense of this blog) a frequent member in my inbox.

I had received a cable box so they needed my email address for confirmation purchase. That is how I got dragged into their email system. They always try to get you with the “digital receipt,” but know it is a trap. So I signed up, then the email blasts started. That’s when I started getting frustrated because half of the time it’s something I don’t want. I’d get the emails once or twice a week and sometimes daily.

The first one was about extending my service with the company.

This is the subject line…..

Screen Shot 2017-04-02 at 8.45.55 PM

…..and this is the body of the email:Screen Shot 2017-04-02 at 8.49.22 PM

The subject line does not come across as a spam email nor does it really come across as a sleazy sales email. The best thing about the subject line is that it is not too descriptive so it gets you to want to open up the email and see what its content is. The content of the email also is not too flashy which makes it come across as more professional and more likely to “extend the service.” The call to action (which every important email typically has) is the “Shop Now,” button. This messaging ties right into the getting more with your service purpose of the email. Time Warner also tries to entice you with different sub-messaging like “Hassle Free Upgrade,” or “No Annual Contracts.” It makes it seem like you can back out or opt in without permanently being placed in a situation you don’t want to be in.

The quality of the content is relevant. If you want more with your service then you simply have to take it to the next level and this email tries to get the consumer to do that. The offer as it stands is simple and directs you to the site which will allow me as the consumer to gain more information. The email in itself would not have gone to everyone in the Time Warner database. The email would go to people who the company knows has simpler packages with cable. Maybe others just have the basic HD channels and not the sports package or they don’t have the Caller ID on their phones that end up popping up on their screen. I do believe this was a mass email chain through a email system like MailChimp.

To me personally, I did not extend my services so it wasn’t fully accomplished even though I did open the email. I did not click on the call to action. The next email should be a more tailored email to me specifically about the shows I watch online and then tailor a package to me in those regards. Give me information on the sports package or On Demand programs which would lead me to spend more money.

The second email I received the Time Warner was as follows.

The subject line read:

Screen Shot 2017-04-02 at 9.01.50 PM

With two content sections in the body:

Screen Shot 2017-04-02 at 9.02.23 PMScreen Shot 2017-04-02 at 9.02.32 PM

Again this email was sent to me as I had signed up for their services when I purchased a cable box from the company. The subject line of this email is a little different because it is more specific. It’s a major service of Time Warner, their providing of internet. This one I was a little iffy about opening because I already had free accessible wifi and a great data plan for my iPhone. However I opened it a found a jammed pack email with loads of content. The email does something unique. It provides to different call to actions. But both end saying “Now,” which makes you not want to miss out on the latest deals. The first part of the content has a message that reads to me as Time Warner provides something better and then the beautiful thing that Time Warner did was that in the same email the outlined why their Internet services are better. The content is remarkably appropriate because in one email I get so much information. I even get a phone number to call if I have any questions. Then I can even get $300 on a VISA card for spending. The email is truly enticing.

This email was most likely only sent to people without an Internet subscription through Time Warner. The segment of home users without broadband is very critical to target for Time Warner and they try everything in their power to expand their market share by any means possible. If I didn’t already have free Internet this email would have done it’s job in getting my to sign up for their services. It was a very affective email, from layout to content.

Overall, emails can be of great use, but companies can’t abuse the power of hitting the send button. Emails need to be strategic, timed out and thought out from subject line to the last word in the email, otherwise the y will become a waste of time for people to view.

One thought on “Emails That Aren’t So Bad….Is This Really True??

Leave a Reply

